top of page

A Love Letter to Roslindale


Born in Colorado, raised in Minnesota, educated in Wisconsin and Louisville...and then transplanted to Boston. In each place I've lived, I've learned a lot. Boston has been a huge growth spurt for me. I started living my values, and trusting my inner voice. A little over 2 years ago, I took a leap of faith. I quit my "day job" and became fully self-employed. I decided I wanted to be a yoga instructor, a voice teacher, and a singer. I moved with my fear through courage I did it.

I grew a voice studio through Integrarte in JP, and in Roslindale, and Kieran Jordan Dance Studio in Hyde Park, as well as in the local libraries.

I became a Transformational Voice Certified teacher with Linda Brice, and collaborated with pianist Sam Partyka and put on a full length classical recital.

I practiced songwriting until it just became a part of who I am, with the help of my amazing husband/partner Davey Harrison. We successfully funded our first Kickstarter, thanks to our community.

My yoga home at Akasha Studio found me. It is truly through Akasha studio and their faith-based leadership that I truly understand and allow my voice as a yoga teacher to be free. I believe there are an infinite amount of ways to teach yoga. What amazes me is that there are many yoga teachers that think that their way is the best or only way. Everybody's body and mind and spirit are so individual. It feels like a strong responsibility to be a yoga teacher. I think it's easier as a yoga teacher to put on a mask, and a voice, and preach the best way to do each pose and each life lesson...but I think it is infinitely harder to live and practice those truths in daily life. Transferring what is learned on the mat into the rest of life.

The managers, owners and fellow teachers at Akasha have always trusted me completely...even in times when I didn't trust myself 100%. With this trust, I had the freedom to try new things, to listen to my students, to be present to make a plan, and completely change the plan. I began to trust myself. As I trusted myself, my students started trusting me. As I write this, I realize that there are a million ways to come in and out of Warrior 1, a million ways to be in Warrior 1, a million ways to breathe in Warrior 1. I vow to stay open to the many ways to practice, the many ways to teach, and the many ways to listen. The more I learn, the more I realize I don't know. I hope as a yoga teacher, my students ultimately learn that yoga is about more than asanas...it's about listening and honoring your body, your mind, your heart, your spirit.

In less than 2 months, Davey and I are packing up a moving truck and journeying to Minnesota. We are listening and allowing the pull of the universe to bring us home. And as we prepare to travel, I feel nostalgia, grief, excitement, hope.

Akasha Studio, Roslindale, Boston...I love you so much. A million miles away from family, you held me and nurtured me. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. You helped make these Boston Imposters feel so welcome and loved. Soon, we will begin again to start to find our new community. I pray for patience during this huge time of change.

Love,

Maire


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page