top of page

Super Woman: Worshipping the Gods of Productivity


When I was in high school, I was an "over-achiever." I got A's, did AP classes, did all the plays and musicals, choirs, dance classes, piano lessons, voice lessons...it was insane. When I got into college, I was so excited because I thought 'Now is the time I will be able to focus on what truly matters...music..." Of course, even in college, I had a lot of academic course work. I was raised in an environment where I could do anything...and everything that I wanted to. It was amazing, and I was exhausted 100% of the time.

I am self-employed. I get to dictate my schedule. This means that I can be busy and exhausted 100% of the time...but I don't like the way I become when I am running on empty. I become desperate, mean, sloppy. If I can create my life, why am I so tempted to run on empty? Because I fall into the habit of worshipping the Gods of productivity. There is a high I feel when I am constantly running on only adrenaline. I get to avoid my feelings, I get to accomplish a million tasks...I get to pretend I am SUPERWOMAN. It is amazing--until my body literally can't stand it anymore and I crash. hard.

Because the thing is--those feelings that I avoid will catch up with me...

Because when my worth is based on how much I can accomplish in the shortest possible amount of time...I enter into a swirling black hole of perfectionist hell. I can never measure up. I will never be Super Woman that way.

It is so scary to live life radically. It is scary to take a day off on a Tuesday during the 9 to 5 work hours. What will people think?

What if I live my life putting my needs ahead of my schedule?

-To be so in tune with my body's needs that I take a nap in the middle of a "work day..."

-To create my schedule out of trust instead of fear.

-To live my life as a healthy, young, adult, teacher, artist...

Only then can I really be Super Woman, or the best version of my self.

I was watching my cat take a nap yesterday and I thought about how I would never treat my cat the way I treat myself. She is worthy of life simply for being alive.

Let's celebrate self-care. Let's celebrate naps. Let's turn around the negative connotations of being lazy.

I am worthy of life simply for being alive.

So are you.

Veena the Cat


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page